Guide to EMT Certification

Photo of author
Written By RobertMaxfield

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur pulvinar ligula augue quis venenatis. 

In the United States, emergency medical workers and Paramedics will have to complete different levels of state approved training programs to receive EMT Certification. Although, the training and certification process, requirements, and standards vary among the US States, but majority states follow the curriculum and standards as stipulated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA). The Certification process requires completing certain prerequisites including:

  1. 18 years of age.
  2. Possess a valid photo ID (ID card, driver’s license, or passport)
  3. Completed fingerprint and background check
  4. High School Diploma or GED
  5. Able to write, read, and speak English
  6. Hold a CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) certification
  7. Pay Certification application fees
  8. Successful completion of the EMT training program
  9. Completed state approved and NHTSA standard course within the past two years

In addition, if any applicant had completed EMT education program two years ago, he/she needs submitting documentation proof of completion of the state-approved refresher course or continuing education of 24 hours within the past 2 years. Again, the applicant who is not currently licensed as an emergency medical technician in the state and completed EMT course more than two years ago will have to complete entire state-approved EMT course again to be eligible to appear for the NREMT certification exam.

Certification Application Process

The NREMT Certification application process requires completing following requirements:

The applicants will have to create a Login on the NREMT website. The next step requires completing a National Registry online application that also includes Felony statements and the Licensing action. The other steps require depositing $70 non-transferable and non-refundable Application fee for challenging of the cognitive examination. Once these requirements are completed, the candidate will be eligible for the exam and receive an Authorization to Test (ATT). The ATT letter features scheduling instructions and identification details for the testing centre.

Certification Exam

National Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) certification exam consists of two parts including:

  1. Cognitive Exam
  2. Psychomotor Exam

The students will have to clear both portions of the exam to earn EMT certification. The certification exam remains valid for twelve months.

Expired Certification

If National EMS Certification or state license of an EMT is expired within a period of 2 years, he/she will have to complete a state-approved Refresher course and pass both of the Cognitive and Psychomotor exams successfully to obtain National EMS Certification. However, if the Certification has expired for more than two years, the applicant will have to complete the entire EMT course and pass NREMT Certification exams.

The additional information on EMT Certification requirements and process, Certification renewal, and Online EMT Certification renewal are available on EMT Certification page.